EUROSOLAR to award its annual European Solar Prize in Vienna

EUROSOLAR is to award its annual European Solar Prize in Vienna on Saturday November 18th at the Technical University of Vienna (TU the Sky).
EUROSOLAR to award its annual European Solar Prize in Vienna

The annual award of the European Solar Prize by EUROSOLAR highlights the work of the pioneers and innovators in the renewable energy sector who are vital to the rapid and efficient energy transition in Europe. The award promotes public awareness of these professionals and gives fresh impetus to a decentralised energy turnaround based on 100 percent renewables.  

Towards the end of each year, the aware winners are invited to a celebratory event in a European city. Previous events have been held in Rome, Prague and Barcelona and this year's award ceremony will be held in Vienna, on Saturday 18th November, at the Technical University Vienna (TU the Sky). 

Before the award of the Solar Prize, a symposium on the topic 'The Energy Transition in Europe' will be held. The speakers at this symposium will be Professor Karin Stieldorf (TU Vienna), Professor Stefan Schleicher (University of Graz), Astrid Schnieder (Austrian Institute of Technology), Professor Peter Droege and Stephan Grüger, MdL (EUROSOLAR). They will present and discuss potentials and conclusions for a sustainable European energy system in the fields of solar architecture, urban planning, energy economy and energy politics. 

The award of the European Solar Prize begins at 2pm with a welcome address given by Dr. Hans Otto Schmidt, chairman of EUROSOLAR Austria and Mag. Thomas Reindl, chairman of the municipal council of the City of Vienna. 

Following a keynote by representative of the Austrian Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology, Professor Peter Droege, president of EUROSOLAR, will guide participants through the highlight of the event with the celebration of this year's award winners. This will be followed by a social get-together with an impressive view over the city. Both events are free of charge but registration is requested. 

The European Solar Prize 2017 will be awarded to ten laureates:

Category: Towns, municipalities, council districts, public utilities
City of Kaposvár, Hungary
Outstanding commitment to become the first Hungarian city with a 100% renewable energy supply

Category: Solar architecture and urban planning
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center (SNFCC), Greece
Strong symbol for ecological sustainability and the potential of renewable energy, integrated in a building of cultural life, setting new standards in architectural requirements

Category: Industrial and commercial companies or farmers
Green City Energy, Germany
Long-time and far-reaching contribution for the expansion of renewable energy in citizen’s hand

Category: Local or regional associations/organizations
Region of Thayaland, Austria
Exemplary regional implementation of renewable energy and sustainable mobility, financially driven by public participation

Category: Owners and operators of renewable energy installations
EKS – utility plant of the Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Practical and efficient management of a soccer arena’s roof surface by using solar energy and raising public awareness for renewables

Category: Transport and Mobility
City of Oslo, Norway
Trendsetting sustainable mobility concept with special consideration of electric vehicles and role model for European cities

Category: Media and communication
Antonio Cerrillo, Spain
Long-time responsible journalism and reporting for a sustainable and eco-friendly development in Spain and Europe

Category: Education and vocational training
LEGO Group, Denmark
Outstanding and inspiring concept of introducing children into renewable energy and environmental protection

Category: One World Cooperation
EcoPeace Middle East, Jordan/Palestine/Israel
Innovative strategy for a sustainable development with the help of renewable energy in one of the most water stressed and conflict filled regions of the world

Category: Special prize for personal achievement
Arnold Schwarzenegger, United States of America/Austria
Long-term contribution for renewable energy and sustainability, using his prominence to raise public awareness on climate change

Members of the jury: 
Prof. Peter Droege, President of EUROSOLAR (Liechtenstein) 
Dr. Axel Berg, Chairman of EUROSOLAR Germany
Gallus Cadonau, Solar Agency Switzerland
Stephan Grüger, MdL, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Germany)
Wolfgang Hein, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Austria)
Rosa Hemmers, Treasurer of EUROSOLAR (Germany)
Andre Langwost, EUROSOLAR France
Morten V. Petersen, EUROSOLAR Denmark
Prof. Livio Sacchi, University of Pescara (Italy)
Prof. Jürgen Sachau, University of Luxembourg

Scientific advisors:
Prof. Eliana Cangelli, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Italy)
Dr. Torsten Masseck, UPC-Barcelona (Spain)
Judith Ronai, EUROSOLAR Hungary 
Milan Smrz, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Czech Republic)

For additional information:


Award Ceremony Online Registration

Baterías con premio en la gran feria europea del almacenamiento de energía
El jurado de la feria ees (la gran feria europea de las baterías y los sistemas acumuladores de energía) ya ha seleccionado los productos y soluciones innovadoras que aspiran, como finalistas, al gran premio ees 2021. Independientemente de cuál o cuáles sean las candidaturas ganadoras, la sola inclusión en este exquisito grupo VIP constituye todo un éxito para las empresas. A continuación, los diez finalistas 2021 de los ees Award (ees es una de las cuatro ferias que integran el gran evento anual europeo del sector de la energía, The smarter E).