solar thermal electric

Great month for Sener as it scoops another prize for Gemasolar

Sener and Torresol Energy walked away with yet more prizes this week, after being awarded four of the eight CSP Today Awards thanks to the Gemasolar concentrating solar power plant in Spain. A we reported yesterday, this comes off the back of the European Business Award it received last week.
Great month for Sener as it scoops another prize for Gemasolar

The engineering and technology group, Sener, and its joint venture with Masdar, Torresol Energy, have been recognised with several awards at the fifth annual CSP Today International Concentrated Solar Thermal Power Summit being held in Seville (Spain) this week.

On Monday, the event's gala ceremony was held where awards were handed out to the most outstanding CSP companies for 2011. Sener and Torresol Energy walked away with four of the eight prizes awarded by the organisation. Specifically, Sener received the awards for "Engineering Firm 2011" and "Increased Dispatchability Solution 2011"; while Torresol Energy was handed awards in the "Commercialized Technology Innovation 2011" and "Most Effective Project Development 2011" categories.

Other winners of the International CSP Today Awards 2011 were as follows:

  • Emerging markets achievement 2011: Abengoa
  • CSP Newcomer 2011: HelioFocus
  • CSP technology supplier 2011: Rioglass
  • EPC contractor 2011: Orascom Construction Indpustries
  • Special CSP Today Award: Avi Bremiller

European Solar Prize Awards 2011

Monday evening also saw the announcement of this year’s European Solar Prize Awards winners, which will be presented by Eurosolar, the European Association for Renewable Energy, in cooperation with KfW Bankengruppe. This year's winners come from Germany, Bulgaria, Denmark, Italy, Austria, Spain, Turkey and Switzerland.

The award ceremony will take place at the Berlin branch of KfW Bankengruppe on 2 December Dr Axel Nawrath, Member of the KfW Executive Board and Professor Peter Droege, President of Eurosolar, will welcome the attendees. Words of commendation will be said by Jo Leinen, Member of the European Parliament.

European Solar Prizes will be awarded to the following:

Towns/municipalities, council districts, public utilities

- District of Rhein-Hunsrück (Germany)

- City of Svoge (Bulgaria)

Industrial and commercial companies or farmers

- Younicos AG (Germany)

Owners or operators of renewable energy installations

- Heizplan AG (Switzerland)

Local or regional associations/organisations

- Danish Small Wind Turbine Association (Denmark)

Solar architecture and urban planning

- Architetture Sostenibili (Italy)


- "Green Nature", CNN Türk (Turkey)

Education and vocational training

- Fundación Sotavento Galicia (Spain)

One-world cooperation

- Phaesun GmbH (Germany)

The recipients of the special achievement prize for individual commitment are Josef Meisl (Austria) and Petra Jebens-Zirkel (Spain). A special award will also be given to the Swiss Federal Council, particularly to four members, for the Swiss phase-out of nuclear energy. It will be accepted by the Swiss Ambassador in Berlin, Dr Tim Guldimann.

Created by Eurosolar in 1994, the European Solar Prize has since been given for exemplary projects and initiatives in the field of renewable energy use. It recognizes outstanding achievements, innovation and creativity in renewable energy applications.

Last year, Renewable Energy Magazine’s sister publication, Energías Renovables, was awarded the prize for Media, which was gratefully received by Luis Merino and Pepa Mosquera, the founders of Haya Comunicación, our publishing company. The prize was especially timely, coinciding with our tenth anniversary.

[Photo: Representatives from Sener and Torresol Energy receive CSP Today Awards from Belén Gallego on Monday evening]

For additional information:

CSP Today


Baterías con premio en la gran feria europea del almacenamiento de energía
El jurado de la feria ees (la gran feria europea de las baterías y los sistemas acumuladores de energía) ya ha seleccionado los productos y soluciones innovadoras que aspiran, como finalistas, al gran premio ees 2021. Independientemente de cuál o cuáles sean las candidaturas ganadoras, la sola inclusión en este exquisito grupo VIP constituye todo un éxito para las empresas. A continuación, los diez finalistas 2021 de los ees Award (ees es una de las cuatro ferias que integran el gran evento anual europeo del sector de la energía, The smarter E).